Follow us

WG Deep-Sea Members


WG Deep Sea members form a multidisciplinary group of experts from natural marine sciences, socio-economics, marine law and governance. Many members have links with industry and the Working Group will also organize targeted interaction with representatives from deep-sea industry sectors.

  • Alex Rogers - WG Chair, University of Oxford, UK
  • Antje Boetius, Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Centre for Polar and Marine Research (AWI), Germany
  • Andy Brierley, University of St. Andrews, UK
  • Peter Croot, National University of Ireland, Galway, Ireland
  • Marina Cunha, University of Aveiro, Portugal
  • Roberto Danavaro, Polythecnic University of Marche, Italy
  • Colin Devey, GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel, Germany
  • Andre Freiwald, Senckenberg Institute, Germany (withdrew membership October 2014)
  • Alf Haakon Hoel, Institute of Marine Research (IMR), Norway
  • Henry Ruhl, National Oceanography Institute (NOC), UK
  • Pierre-Marie Sarradin, French Research Institute for Exploration of the Sea (Ifremer), France
  • Seline Trevisanut, University of Utrecht , Netherlands
  • Helena Vieira, University of Lisbon - formely at Bioalvo (SME), Portugal
  • Martin Visbeck, GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel, Germany
  • Sybille van den Hove, MEDIAN SCP (SME), Spain