Scientific Diving Panel

ESDP New logo Nov2012Since 2008, the Marine Board European Scientific Diving Panel (ESDP) has acted as a European operational platform to advance underwater scientific excellence and to promote and implement a practical support framework for scientific diving related activities.

Why Scientific Diving?

Scientific diving supports professional research and education as well as the protection, conservation and monitoring of the natural and cultural environment. It is a highly-productive, cost-effective research tool. Scientific diving is quite different from recreational or commercial diving. It provides the technical capability to be an "intelligent monitoring system", greatly extending the possibilities of ship supported/based

monitoring techniques. Scientific diving exists in a health and safety framework that involves certified scientific divers, diving officers,
scientific project leaders, heads of laboratories, administrators and legislators.

Water samplingMarine Board European Scientific Diving Panel (ESDP) focus on:

  1. Operational and safety issues related to scientific diving.
  2. Diving as a tool for scientific research.

Further information

  • MB ESDP membership: here
  • MB ESDP SD database: here
  • ESDP also host their own websites:
  • Contact at Marine Board Secretariat: Noémie Wouters This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Consultation Documents 

ESDP is a focused and technical panel which delivers concrete outputs in the form of European scientific diving standards and consultation documents. Consultation documents are available for download on the following topics: 

  1. Common Practices and EU Competency levels
  2. Delivery of science through diving
  3. Scientific Diving from large Research vessels

News and Events 

  • 12th ESDP meeting, 20 March 2014, HCMR Crete, Greece. 
  • 18-19 March 2014: ESF exploratory workshop “Breakthrough technologies to advance diving-based underwater research in the next decade”, HCMR, Crete, Greece. 
  • October 2013: International Scientific Diving Symposium, 21-28 October 2013, Curaçao (Dutch Antilles). Europe and the U.S. join forces as the ESDP and the American Academy of Underwater Science (AAUS) co-organize ISOSD4. More information here
  • ESDP Meetings 2013:
  • 11th ESDP meeting, 8 October 2013, ESF-COST Office, Brussels. For more information contact the ESDP Chair, Martin Sayer.   
  • 10th ESDP meeting, 20-21 March 2013, Zadar, Croatia, hosted at the International Centre for Underwater Archaeology. See photo below and download the agenda here
  • COST / ESDP workshop 2010: Strengthening Synergy and Excellence in Diving Supported Science across Europe. Further details of the workshop jointly organised and funded by the COST office (European Cooperation in Science and Technology) and the ESDP of the Marine Board can be found here

ESDP Zadar participants

ESDP network at the 10th ESDP meeting (ICUA, Zadar, Croatia, 20-21 March 2013) 
Back row (left to right): Preslav Peev (Institute of Oceanology, Bulgaria), Jouni Leinikki (Finnish Scientific Diving Steering Association), Donat Petricioli (DIIV ltd. / Coordination of Scientific Divers of Croatia), Martin Sayer (NERC/SAMS, UK; ESDP Chair), Tihomir Makovec (National Institute of Biology, Slovenia), Vladimir Onofri (Marine Coastal Institute in Dubrovnik/ Coordination of Scientific Divers of Croatia), Luka Bekić (International Centre for Underwater Archaeology, Zadar, Croatia), Mladen Pešić (International Centre for Underwater Archaeology, Zadar, Croatia). Middle row (left to right): Philipp Fischer (AWI, Germany), Volkan Demir (Istanbul University, Turkey), Wanda Plaiti (Hellenic Centre for Marine Research, Crete, Greece), Kate Larkin (Marine Board), Tjaša Kogovšek (National Institute of Biology, Slovenia), Merli Pärnoja (University of Tartu, Estonian Marine Institute), Jurica Bezak (Croatian Conservation Institute / Coordination of Scientific Divers of Croatia), Miran Erič (Institute for the protection of cultural heritage of R. Slovenia), Ante Plančić (Red-Tech ltd. / Coordination of Scientific Divers of Croatia). Front row (left to right): Dobroslav Dechev (Institute of Oceanology, Bulgaria), Maria Asplund (Kristineberg Marine Research Station, Sweden), Andrej Jaklin (Centre for Marine Research, Rovinj, Croatia), Kaire Kaljurand (University of Tartu, Estonian Marine Institute)